Wind Mobile has a technical problem porting numbers in Ottawa

Wind Mobile logo

According to the Wind Mobile customer representative that I spoke with yesterday, Wind has a technical problem that is hindering the transfer of certain blocks of telephone numbers from carriers in the Ottawa area.  This problem was apparently identified some time ago, and it was believed to have been resolved – that is, until yesterday when it was discovered that the issue was affecting my account.

I signed up for Wind service last week, with the promise that the phone number I have been using with Bell Mobility for the past five years would be easily ported to Wind within a few hours.  It wasn’t. After many calls to customer service, and repeated verification of the details of my Bell account, I was finally told yesterday that a manual process had to be used to transfer my number because the automated system was malfunctioning.

The customer representative that I spoke with didn’t provide much in the way of details, but he did say that the problem was entirely the fault of Wind Mobile, and had nothing to do with Bell or the information that I had provided.  I have to admit, as aggravating as this has been, it was nice to have them at least take responsibility for the delay in service.

I was also told that my service would be up by Tuesday. We’ll see.  Having been told four times in the last week that a Wind representative would call me back (one actually claiming that he personally would call back), and never actually receiving any of the promised calls, I’m not holding my breath that the promise of service on Tuesday will be kept.

Like I said, we’ll see.

Update: My phone works! Woot!

Add to: Facebook | Stumbleupon | Twitter

One Response to “Wind Mobile has a technical problem porting numbers in Ottawa”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mitch Leuraner. Mitch Leuraner said: Wind Mobile has a technical problem porting numbers in Ottawa: http://wp.me/pNFCB-3g […]

Leave a Reply

