The big switch – Bell to Wind

Over the weekend I officially signed up to have my cellphone service switched from Bell to Wind – and have my number ported along with the new service.

I was told by the Wind representative that the switch generally takes about 3 hours, but could take as long as three days.  I had also talked with friends and colleagues who have ported numbers to and from other companies without incident.

But… as soon as I got home, excited to use my new phone, I was lurking around the Wind Mobile Community website – and discovered dozens of horror stories from people trying to port their number to Wind!

There are complaints of multiple errors with account numbers, multiple calls to customer service and hours waiting on hold. There was even one person who’s phone number was lost somewhere between the two companies – neither of which is apparently able to retrieve it.

Needless to say, I’m getting anxious.  I’ve been waiting for my new phone to work for three days – the max that I was told I should wait before getting in touch with customer service.  In the mean time, I’m technically paying for phone service with two different companies at the same time.

So, I wait.

Add to: Facebook | Stumbleupon | Twitter |

2 Responses to “The big switch – Bell to Wind”

  1. […] Antisocial Thoughts … for an antisocial world. « The big switch – Bell to Wind […]

  2. […] signed up for Wind service last week, with the promise that the phone number I have been using with Bell Mobility for the past five […]

Leave a Reply

