Public Mobile, I hate you

In 2009, the CRTC ruled that Globalive could not operate in the Canadian wireless industry because it has an Egyptian company as a majority stakeholder. The government, in a rare moment of sanity, overturned the ruling – effectively allowing Globalive to start up a new Wireless company: Wind Mobile.  Since then, roughly 250,000 people have become Wind Mobile customers – myself included.

But today a federal court ruled that the government was wrong to overturn the CRTC decision.  This means that, unless Globalive wins an appeal, 250,000 people will have to look for another wireless provider.

I am not a lawyer, and I am not qualified to speak to the legal issues regarding the court’s ruling.  But I do know one thing: the court doesn’t just make rulings on it’s own – someone has to bring it a complain.  In this case, the issue was brought to the federal court by Public Mobile, a rival in the Wireless market.

Let me be the first to give a nice big sarcastic thank you to Public Mobile!  And let me just say: I promise, no matter how desperate I am for cell phone service, Public Mobile, I will NEVER be one of your customers.

Leave a Reply

