Medium-security facilities cost how much?

I was reading this CBC News article about the failure of an electronic anklet pilot project that was run by Correctional Service Canada. According to some University of New Brunswick professor, the anklets didn’t work as well as had been hoped, and the whole thing was a big waste of money.

Whatever. I don’t really care – that’s what pilot projects are for.

But there was one statistic in the article that caught my eye.  Apparently,

Keeping an offender in a medium-security facility costs $239 a day, or $87,500 a year, while housing them in a community correctional centre costs $65,656 annually.

Umm… what?!

I make a very decent living – about what both my parents made at the height of their careers, combined. But I do not make $87,500 a year – especially not after taxes.  And I would bet most Canadians don’t make anywhere near that much either.

When I was in university, I lived on less than $10,000 a year.  And that payed for food, rent and all the booze I could drink.

So where does all of this money go?  How can a single offender cost $239 each day?

Leave a Reply

