My new favourite artist: Irina Davis

Annushka - by Irina Davis (Source: http://www.irinadavis.com/)

I came across Irina Davis’ website completely by accident, and it caused me to spend nearly two hours looking for more information about her and her work. At first I thought that the images were of amazing sculptures – along the lines of Ron Mueck.  The way that the women look so perfectly… perfect, I presumed that they couldn’t be real.  But, incredibly, her images are all photographs of real women.  In her own words:

Because of the devastation of World War II, Russian “girls” in the ’40s and ’50s were taught to be tough and work hard.   I am saddened by the fact that Russia never had the chance to enjoy the happy pin-up times of America’s postwar period. In fact, cheerful American pin-up art was considered in Soviet Russia to be politically incorrect, decadent and flat-out immoral, the product of a culture that could never understand the true nature of the human condition.

By photographing exclusively Russian immigrant women in traditional all-American pin-up poses, I am inventing my own genre of Russian pin-up.  My concept is to portray pure beauty, femininity and sexuality, not to objectify but to empower. To those who identify the clues in my work, hidden to most non-Russian eyes, I am telling the story of a crisis of Russian national identity, and the frustration and confusion of self-identification with the Old Country, the New World and a diaspora caught between them. My goal is to bridge the gap and seduce the spectator with alluring imagery, trapping him into empathizing with a foreign element.

Definitely check out the link to her site. It’s well worth your time.

2 Responses to “My new favourite artist: Irina Davis”

  1. lookitsbray Says:

    WoW! Nice find. tunning work.

  2. lookitsbray Says:

    WoW! Nice find. Stunning work.

Leave a Reply

