Facinating urban wildlife

Why is it that if I have a camera, and squirrel happens by, I have the inexplicable urge to capture the creature on film? I’ve probably seen hundreds of squirrel in my lifetime, but I always feel the need to take a picture anyway.

Case in point: a few weeks back, I came across an old roll of true black & white film that hadn’t been used.  So I figured I’d better use it before it got any older.  I loaded it into my trusty 1965 Nikon F and went for a walk.  I had a nice time, but most of the 24 shots didn’t turn out.  The age of the film made a lot of the images washed out and grainy – and my generally poor manual photography skills ruined most of the others.

I did get a few decent prints though – somehow the four squirrel shots were perfect. Below is my favourite, but you can see the rest on my Facebook profile.

Squirrel

Squirrel by the Canal. (Copyright Mitch Leuraner 2010)

Add to: Facebook | Stumbleupon | Twitter |

2 Responses to “Facinating urban wildlife”

  1. I like the photo–nicely done.

Leave a Reply

