What makes a blogger tick?

I just finished filling out a survey for a study that is investigating the motivations that drive people to maintain blogs. It is apparently being conducted by a doctoral candidate at the City University of New York. Here is the description from the survey’s own blog:

My name is Leora. During my training to become a clinical psychologist, I have become interested — both personally and professionally — in issues of identity and the role technology plays in the formation of identity. I have created this study in the hopes of adding a new dimension to our current understanding of the role that blogging plays in people’s interpersonal worlds. In this study I aim to better understand the inner lives of a variety of bloggers, each of whom will add a distinct and personal perspective. I hope you will join me!

The survey contained a very interesting set of questions. In fact, a lot of them were not ones that I would have linked with blogging at all. But having completed the survey, I can see where the researcher is hoping to go – especially considering that she is in the field of clinical psychology.

I won’t give away what was actually in the survey. (You’ll have to participate if you really want to know.) But I will say that it asks the kinds of questions that teach you certain things about yourself.  The basic format requires (for most questions) that you answer using the researcher’s words.  And that can be hard to do sometimes. It’s the kind of survey where, if you are not careful, you may find yourself inadvertently giving answers that you wish were true.

It’s funny how even in anonymous surveys we find it difficult to admit certain things about life – as if checking the True box make a problem more real.

Leave a Reply

